A Baby Shower Playlist

6 02 2010

I forgot to mention this in my previous post and I wanted to share it, even if only for posterity’s sake:

During the shower, I had a playlist going of 45 songs with the word ‘baby’ in the title. It made for great, appropriate background music, which I firmly believe is a must for any social gathering, no matter how big or small, to prevent occasional awkward silences. I’m often surprised at how many parties I go to that don’t have any music playing in the background. That’s like not adding sugar to your prized cookie recipe, people. Anyway, I didn’t stick to any particular genre with this playlist, but I did notably leave out “Baby, Baby” by Amy Grant and “Baby Got Back” by Sir Mix-A-Lot if only because they’re a little too obvious. (Then again, how Vanilla Ice made its way on the list while sidestepping the Too Obvious Award is beyond me. I blame pregnancy hormones.)

A Baby Shower Playlist

Baby I’m Yours – Arctic Monkeys
Don’t Worry Baby – The Beach Boys
Step Into My Office, Baby – Belle And Sebastian
Baby I’m-A Want You – Bread
Hear Comes My Baby – Cat Stevens
Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing – Chris Isaak
Baby – Dave Matthews
American Baby – Dave Matthews Band
Baby – Devendra Banhart
Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Jordan
Baby Britain – Elliott Smith
Baby I Need Your Loving – The Four Tops
Baby Fratelli – The Fratellis
Run Baby Run – Garbage
(You’re) Having My Baby – Glee Cast
All We Want, Baby, Is Everything – Handsome Furs
Beating Heart Baby – Head Automatica
Doing It All For My Baby – Huey Lewis & The News
Baby – Imperial Teen
Somebody’s Baby – Jackson Browne
Cry Baby – Janis Joplin
Baby’s Coming Back – Jellyfish
September Baby – Joseph Arthur
I Can’t Quit You Baby – Led Zeppelin
Combat Baby – Metric
Baby Be Mine – Michael Jackson
Plug In Baby – Muse
Don’t Upset The Rhythm (Go Baby Go) – Noisettes
Baby I Love Your Way (Live) – Peter Frampton
Baby Come Back – Player
Baby I’m A Star – Prince
Tell Me Baby – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Stick With Me Baby – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss
Baby Blue Eyes – A Rocket To The Moon
Be My Baby – The Ronettes
Baby – Rufus Wainwright
Brand New Baby – Semisonic
You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby – The Smiths
Baby Girl (2nd Version)(Remix) – Sugarland
Baby Love – The Supremes
Baby-Baby-Baby – TLC
She’s My Baby – The Traveling Wilburys
Baby – UB40
Pretty Baby – Vanessa Carlton
Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice

It’s a pretty sweet list, if I do say so myself. I still listen to it, long after the shower.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

